Arkansas State Police | Criminal History Search

Criminal Background Check DEMO  

 

 
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I get an Arkansas criminal history background check?
There are two ways to obtain statewide Arkansas background checks.
Manual Process
The first way (manual process) requires the subject of the record check to sign the State Police form ASP-122.  This form must be notarized.  The cost is $20.00.  The completed form along with an addressed stamped envelope and $20.00 is mailed to Arkansas State Police, Identification Bureau, 1 State Police Plaza Drive, Little Rock, AR 72209.  The request will be processed and the results of the background check will be mailed to the (business/person) authorized on the form.  This method is open to all persons who have the written notarized release of the subject of the request.  This method takes seven to 10 days to complete excluding mailing time.

The ASP-122 is available as an Adobe PDF document. Click to download the ASP-122 form, print and follow the instructions on the form.

Adobe PDF documents require the free Adobe Reader.

Electronic Process
The second way (electronic process) is open only to employers and professional licensing boards (hereinafter PLB) under Act 63 of the First Extraordinary Session of 2003.  The employer or PLB is required to register with Arkansas State Police and have their application accepted and approved.  That approved application allows them to register for electronic internet service with the Information Network of Arkansas (INA), the internet access provider.  The employer or PLB is then required to complete information online and create passwords.  Upon completion of this process, the employer or PLB will be allowed electronic access to certain criminal history information (see below).

The employer or PLB will be required to have a signed release from the employee and must maintain that release in their files for three years.  If correct information is submitted, the results of the search may be completed in minutes.  If research is required, the response may take several hours to complete.
What information will my response contain?
Manual Process
If the request is submitted through the manual process, the report will show only felony and misdemeanor convictions for the State of Arkansas.  FBI or other states' criminal history information will not be released. The request checks by name against information that has been entered in the Arkansas Crime Information Center criminal history database.  The ACIC database is based on fingerprints submitted after an individual's arrest.
""

You will not have access to the same information that is available to law enforcement.

""

You will not be allowed access to arrests that are pending (where the court has not entered a disposition).

""

You will not be allowed access to arrests that ended in the case being dismissed, nol prossed or found not guilty.

""

You will not be allowed access to traffic records that do not appear on the criminal record.  You will not be allowed access to sealed offenses except to the extent the information is releasable under Arkansas Attorney General Opinions 2003-057 and 2003-183.  Visit the Attorney General's website for more information (opens in a new window).

Electronic Process
If the request is submitted in the electronic form, the report will show:
""

any pending felony arrests (charges pending in court where a disposition has not been entered).

""

any felony or misdemeanor convictions for the State of Arkansas.

""

if the person is required to register as a sex offender (all levels - one through four).

FBI or other states' criminal history information will not be released.  The request checks by name against information that has been entered in the Arkansas Crime Information Center criminal history database.  The ACIC database is based on fingerprints submitted after an individual's arrest.

You will not have access to:
""

the same information that is available to law enforcement.

""

misdemeanor arrests that are pending (charges pending in court).

""

arrests that ended in the case being dismissed, nol prossed or found not guilty.

""

traffic records that do not appear on the criminal record.

Only in certain instances will persons be allowed access to a sealed record information.  See Arkansas Attorney General Opinions 2003-057 and 2003-183.  Visit the Attorney General's website for more information (opens in a new window).

What are the costs of the Arkansas criminal history background check?
Manual Process
The cost is $20.00.  The funds may be sent by money order or personal/business check.  Credit cards are not accepted for the manual transaction at this time.  A stamped envelope must be included with each request.
Electronic Process
The cost is $22.00 ($20.00 background check fee and an additional $2.00 processing fee is assessed and collected by the internet access provider).

If the employer is required by Arkansas law to perform the background check, the total cost will be $20.00 (at this time).

There is also a $50.00 annual fee that is assessed by INA to utilized their service.  This fee is waived for State agencies and educational institutions.  If you already receive services from INA, you may be able to add this service without additional registration expenses.

What are the advantages of using the Arkansas State Police background check process as compared to other background check products offered over the Internet?

All
other background checks from private companies are linked by name only.  If an applicant has a common name, there can be convictions linked to that person that do not belong to them or they could deny a conviction that is in fact them.

The Arkansas State Police retrieves the Arkansas criminal history information from the ACIC database.  That database, in conjunction with the Arkansas State Police AFIS, connects all arrests based on fingerprints and not merely by name. If someone who has a criminal record is arrested under a false name and fingerprints are taken at the time of arrest, the current arrest will be linked to any previous criminal history regardless of the false name that was given.

Also, if a charge appears on a person's criminal history background check and the person claims that it is not their arrest, that person can arrange to have fingerprints taken by a law enforcement officer and those fingerprints compared to the fingerprints from the arrest that allegedly is not theirs.  State Police will be able to positively confirm or exclude that person from that arrest/criminal history.

The State Police background check is not based on comparison of fingerprints to fingerprints, it is based on a name query of the criminal history system that is linked by fingerprints.

The State Police records are based on submission of fingerprint arrest cards from law enforcement arrest and not merely court records.